Skip to content

I Want To Play….

March 5, 2013

This weekend I was lucky enough to be able to attend one of the most fabulous annual events in my writing diary, Eroticon2013.  The founder of the event is my friend. She is also an extremely talented erotic fiction writer. Her name is Ruby Kiddle,  she is @eroticnotebook on twitter, and evidence of her brilliance, and more detail about Eroticon can be found here: http://eroticnotebook.co.uk (and also on practically every blog or website belonging to the other attendees from this weekend’s conference – everyone is talking about it, and rightly so)

I have been reading a lot over the last few days about the post-event ‘drop’ that we all seem to be experiencing. It is what happens to you when a momentous or highly emotive event comes to an end. Even those who have never been to Eroticon or anything like it will probably still be able to relate to this. It is that feeling you get after going to a major festival,  or having a really great holiday, or participating in a really intense BDSM scene or, I don’t know, getting married (Probably). It is the emotional crash that comes with detaching from a fantasy and being back in your everyday reality.

For me there has been a sort of  lingering undercurrent of emotional loss since I stepped on to the train to begin my journey home on Sunday evening. That being said, travelling on the London – Midlands Railway can do that to you anyway, regardless of where you have been. Eroticon 2013 was one of those ‘you had to be there’ type of events – I for one found the whole experience both exhilarating and invaluable. Being able to mix with and speak freely to industry peers who I know (or know of) and, in some cases admire, reignited what had become a dying ember.

The poetry session on Sunday run by the lovely Ashley R Lister, whom you may find here: http://www.ashleylister.co.uk/ ranks as one of the highlights of that day. Quite unexpectedly, we were tasked with writing various styles of  poetry, against the clock! (The swine!)  I am still a bit gutted that I bombed on the limerick,! but it turned out to be a useful and revealing exercise, and it taught me a lesson that I have put into practice every day so far since.  That lesson was simply this: When you are writing, no matter what it is, it is okay to just have fun with language.

Now, for all I know this may have always been obvious to everyone else, maybe I am late to the party on this one, but maybe not. Something nagged at me for a little while after that session, and it dawned on me that actually this lesson was something that I DID know before, back when I started writing (Many years ago) and practised with even greater relish when I first got a computer, learned how to use it and threw away my rusty old typewriter. I had just never recognised that I knew it.

I have neglected my fiction writing for some time now (as you can probably see from my archive), I hit a bit of a wall a while back and subsequently listened to the self-doubt demons that were telling me I was not very good at it. Since then I have concentrated instead on business blogging and web site content (yawn). As a result, I have become preoccupied with things like correct terminology, and SEO ,and metrics (double yawn).

I put the muse away in her cage and left her to rattle away in there while I got on with running my businesses. Somewhere along the line, she ceased her incessant wailing, crawled off in to a corner and fell asleep. Somehow, I seem to have just forgotten how much I enjoyed her company. One of the questions which preoccupied me when I tried (unsuccessfully) to sleep on Sunday evening was, What am I going to do with her now that she is awake again?

Now, I understand perfectly that most of the writers who attended Eroticon2013 will have come home bursting with new ideas and projects that they wish to start on immediately and. like me, are busy getting them down on paper or screen. But I thought it would be nice to get out of that frenzied head space for a moment, and  just play.

So, I came up with the Idea of creating a simple character profile, upon whom I will base a short story. I also wanted to try to extend the feeling of camaraderie that I took away from this weekend, and have decided to also offer her up for other  friends and writers  to, um, use as they see fit.

There are no rules dictating what you can do with her, all I ask is that you mention me and link to my blog if you participate.

My own story will follow this as my next post – if you want to join in my game, please feel free – you can either write it on your own blog or  website and include a link to it in the comments – or if it is only a quickie paste it straight in to the box… down there.

So here she is:

Name: Cassie

Age Range: 30 +

Physical Characteristics: Petite, RedHead, Freckles, Green eyes, Curvaceous, Full lips. (Feel free to add to this list)

Cassie is sharp witted, self assured and bold – she works hard and plays hard – she always speaks her mind. (Again, feel free to add to this if your character develops more intricate attributes as you write)

Lets Play…. 🙂

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. I want to play, too! But my muse is currently lazy and uncooperative. I’ll see what I can scare up… *grabs big stick*

    • Hi Toni! 🙂 good to see you!! Excellent news! I look forward to reading your piece. I have had some bad news about a good friend this week so mine is going to have to wait a while. But I’m looking forward to seeing what my friends and peers make of the character. xx

  2. oh, paula, i’m so sorry to hear that. 😦 all the hugs. XXX

    • P.S. if the name in the above comment looks funny, it’s because my netnoob of a husband’s been using my blog ID to leave comments elsewhere, and left his name behind… 😄

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. encore une fois | dazedeye

Leave a Reply

